Non fiction

I specifically here am discussing the book “Mathematics Without the Boring Bits” by Richard Elwes but I didn’t want to scare anyone off with that as the title. I just want to say that this book is kind of awesome despite my apathy-at-best attitude towards math. The back cover promises, among other things “How to unleash chaos, how to survive a whirlpool, how to outrun a speeding bullet, how to be alive and dead at the same time” and so on, which it rather delivers on. And it does it without including page upon page of equations and helps explain things that either I never understood or have forgotten in the five years since my last math class. So, if you want a math book that isn’t horrible, and math is pretty important in our technologically advanced world, this is a good one. I just wanted to pass that along. I’ll stop now.

Leave a Reply

